Auditions

Auditions for our 2024/2025 season are scheduled for Friday, June 7 and and Sunday, June 9, 2024. Auditions are for all three of our mainstage productions: Hello Girls, Nuncrackers, and Between the Lines.

All auditions will take place at the Swamp Donkey Theatre located at 16 White Avenue in Bragg Creek.

Mainstage Show Information

Please see detailed audition and production information and the audition sign up link, below.

Audition Zoom Information Session:

New to the audition process?  Terrified about auditions?!  We’ve got you! 

We want to ensure everyone feels comfortable about auditioning.  Join our Artistic Director, Melanie Baux, and Founder, Trisha Gizen, for a Zoom session about auditions on Tuesday, May 28, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.  Register for the Zoom session by emailing us at swampdonkeytheatre@gmail.com. Feel free to email us with any questions about auditions at artisticswampdonkeytheatre@gmail.com.

Age Requirements:

Auditions are open to anyone ten years of age or older. Auditionees must be ten years old at the time of their audition. There are no roles for youth in Hello Girls. There are some roles for youth performers in Nuncrackers and Between the Lines. Young performers may wish to consider participating in our fall and spring youth musical theatre courses in lieu of our mainstage productions.

Time Commitment:

​Please review the time commitment, outlined below and on the audition form, in determining whether to audition for the productions.

Cast members are expected to be available for ALL regular rehearsals, technical rehearsals, and performances, unless absences are approved by our Artistic Director Please list absences on the audition form.

Audition Requirements:

Auditionees are asked to prepare the following for their audition:

  • Song 1 – musical theatre ballad, one minute long, with accompanying background track;
  • Song 2 – musical theatre uptempo, one minute long, with accompanying background track; and
  • Monologue – one minute long, appropriate to your age with appropriate content.

Please note that auditionees who have not prepared all three of the pieces required for the audition will not be considered for the production(s).

Please note there is no space to warm up or rehearse in the theatre. Auditionees are asked to warm up prior to their arrival at the theatre. Auditionees are asked to wait outside the theatre until they are called into the theatre for their audition.

Please note there is no WiFi at the theatre.  Please email background tracks to us at artisticswampdonkeytheatre@gmail.com prior to auditions or have the track downloaded onto your device.

We kindly request that family and friends wait outside of the theatre during auditions.

Audition Sign Up Link

2024/2025 Main Stage Production Season Schedule:

Fall: The Hello Girls

Regular Rehearsals (16 total) August 18, 2024 to October 9, 2024:

  • Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Wednesday evenings 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Extra Rehearsals (note: may be cancelled if school matinee goes ahead):

  • Wednesday, October 23, 2024 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. (run through between show weekends)

Tech Week (October 13 to 17, 2024):

  • Run Through: October 13, 2024 from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
  • Tech and Dress Rehearsals: October 14 to October 17, 2024 daily from 6:00 to 10:00 p.m.

Performances (7 total) October 18 to 27, 2024:

  • Friday, October 18, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 19, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 20, 2024 at 2:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, October 22, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. (school matinee)
  • Friday, October 25, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 26, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 27, 2024 at 2:00 p.m.

Christmas: Nuncrackers

Regular Rehearsals (14 total) November 3, 2024 to December 12, 2024:

  • Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., Wednesday evenings 6:00 to 9:00 p.m., and add Thursday evenings 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. beginning November 28, 2024
  • note: Sunday, November 24, 2024 rehearsal will run from 3:00 to 6:00 p.m. due to Annie Jr. performance on this date

NO Rehearsal:

  • No rehearsal November 20, 2024 (Annie Jr. Tech Week)

Tech Week (December 15 to 18, 2024):

  • Run Through: Sunday, December 15, 2024 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Tech and Dress Rehearsals: December 16 to 18, 2024 daily from 6:00 to 10:00 p.m.

Performances (5 total) December 19 to 22, 2024:

  • Thursday, December 19, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Friday, December 20, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 21, 2024 at 2:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 21, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 22, 2024 at 2:00 p.m.

Spring: Between the Lines

Regular Rehearsals (24 total) January 19, 2025 to April 23, 2025:

Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Wednesday evenings 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.

NO Rehearsals:

  • Sunday, February 16 and Wednesday, February 19, 2025 (Rocky View Reading Week)
  • Wednesday, March 19, 2024 (The Most Epic Birthday Party Ever Tech Week)
  • Sunday, April 20, 2025 (Easter Sunday)

Extra Rehearsal (note: may be cancelled if school matinees go ahead):

Wednesday, May 7, 2025 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. (run through between show weekends)

Tech Week (April 27, 2025 to May 1, 2025):

  • Run Through: April 27, 2025 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Tech and Dress Rehearsals: April 28, 2025 to May 1, 2025 daily from 6:00 to 10:00 p.m.

Performances (10 total) May 2 to 11, 2025:

  • Friday, May 2, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 3, 2025 at 2:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 3, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 4, 2025 at 2:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 6, 2025 at 10:00 a.m. (school matinee)
  • Thursday, May 8, 2025 at 10:00 a.m. (school matinee)
  • Friday, May 9, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 10, 2025 at 2:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 10, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 11, 2025 at 2:00 p.m.